Tamari Made mainly in the Chubu region of Japan, tamari is darker in appearance and richer in flavor than koikuchi
. It contains little or no wheat
. Wheat-free tamari can be used by people with gluten intolerance. It is the "original" Japanese soy sauce
, as its recipe is closest to the soy sauce originally introduced to Japan from China. Technically, this variety is known as miso-damari, as this is the liquid that runs off miso as it matures. The Japanese word tamari is derived from the verb tamaru that signifies "to accumulate", referring to the fact that tamari was traditionally a liquid byproduct made during the fermentation of miso (type of seasoning). Japan is the leading producer of tamari.